Renewing

Nov 262014
 

These are the readings from the daily Revised Common Lectionary for Wednesdays. For a short worship service like the ones we have at St. Paul’s, it’s appropriate to choose just one of these readings.

This material is taken from suggested daily readings from the Consultation on Common Texts.

Advent

Wednesday December 3, 2014  Psalm 79   Micah 5:1-5a    Luke 21:34-38

Wednesday December 10, 2014 Psalm 27  Malachi 2:10-3:1  Luke 1:5-17

Wednesday, December 17, 2014 Psalm 125  Malachi 3:16-4:6   Mark 9:9-13

Wednesday, December 24, 2014 (Christmas Eve)

Christmastide

Wednesday, December 31, 2014 Psalm 148  1 Kings 3:5-14  John 8:12-19

Wednesday, January 7, 2015 Psalm 110  Exodus 1:22-2:10  Hebrews 11:23-26

The Season After Epiphany

Wednesday, January 14, 2015 Psalm 69:1-5, 30-36 Isaiah 41:14-20 John 1:29-34

Wednesday, January 21, 2015  Psalm 86 Genesis 16:1-14 Luke 18:15-17

Wednesday, January 28, 2015 Psalm 46 Proverbs 8:1-21 Mark 3:13-19a

Wednesday, February 4, 2015  Psalm 102:12-28 Job 6:1-13 Mark 3:7-12

Wednesday. February 11, 2015 Psalm 6 Job 30:16-31 John 4:46-54

Lent

Wednesday, February 18, 2015 (Ash Wednesday)

Wednesday, February 25, 2015  Psalm 77   Proverbs 30:1-9  Matthew 4:1-11

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 Psalm 105:1-11, 37-45  Jeremiah 30:12-22  John 12:36-43

Wednesday, March 11, 2015 Psalm 84   Ezra 6:1-16  Mark 11:15-19

Wednesday, March 18, 2015 Psalm 107:1-16   Isaiah 60:15-22   John 8:12-20

Wednesday, March 25,2015 Psalm 119:9-16   Haggai 2:1-9, 20-23   John 12:34-50

Holy Week

Wednesday, April 1, 2015  (four choices) Isaiah 50:4-9a   Psalm 70   Hebrews 12:1-3   John 13:21-32

Easter

Wednesday, April 8, 2015 Psalm 118:1-2, 14-24  Song of Solomon 3:1-11  Mark 16:1-8

Wednesday, April 15, 2015   Psalm 135  Isaiah 26:1-15   Mark 12:18-27

Wednesday, April 22, 2015   Psalm 150  Proverbs 9:1-6  Mark 16:9-18

Wednesday, April 29, 2015   Psalm 95   Micah 7:8-20  Mark 14:26-31

Wednesday, May 6, 2015  Psalm 80  Isaiah 65:17-25  John 14:18-31

Wednesday, May 13, 2015   Psalm 93  Deuteronomy 11:18-21  Mark 16:19-20

Wednesday, May 20, 2015   Psalm 115  Ezra 9:5-15  John 16:16-24

Pentecost

Wednesday, May 27, 2015  Psalm 104:24-34, 35b   Ezekiel 37:1-14   John 20:19-23

Trinity

Wednesday, June 3, 2015  Psalm 20   Numbers 6:22-27  Mark 4:21-25

Time After Pentecost

Wednesday, June 10, 2015  (Proper 5)    Psalm 74  Isaiah 26:16-27:1 1  Luke 11:14-28     or    Psalm 108  1 Samuel 9:1-14  Luke 11:14-28

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

 

(Further readings can be found at http://www.commontexts.org/publications/dailyreadingsb.pdf

 

 

 

 

 

Share
 Wednesday Evening Prayer readings  Posted by on Wed, 26-Nov-14 Ministries, Renewing Comments Off on Wednesday Evening Prayer readings
Mar 142014
 

Renewing Worship project       March 14, 2014

Thanks for participating in the project for exploring new ways of worshiping God together.

I promised a while ago to prepare some materials to help us discern how well our attempts at new ways of worship are working out. This is my draft. Please feel free to comment on this by writing to me oj@stpauls-nbpt.org, or by using the comment form on this page.

Asking open-ended questions

The idea is this: we’ll ask ourselves open-ended questions about our worship experiences, rather than giving ourselves a set of rules – a checklist – against which to score them.  The idea is to reflect on each worship experience in the light of the open-ended questions.

Obviously, it’s helpful if one of the questions we use is this:

Q. In what inward and outward ways are our practices of worship, prayer, and service consistent with St. Paul’s Church Statement of Call?

As a reminder, our statement of call is this:

St. Paul’s is a Christian community where people are met and accepted without judgment for who they are and are adopted into a loving and caring family. Our faith provides a framework within which we explore, honor and celebrate the presence of God in daily experiences, especially in the crises, conflicts and transitions of life, and are thereby equipped to live fully in an increasingly complex and changing world.

We believe we are called to center our life in Jesus Christ through a regular discipline of Eucharistic worship, scripture study and prayer.

We believe our faith leads us to fulfill our mission, which is to share ourselves and our resources with each other, our community and the world.

We believe we are called to discover and affirm our spiritual gifts and be responsible and committed ministers of these gifts in the name of Jesus Christ.

What open-ended questions should we use?

These are my suggestions for open-ended questions we might use as we reflect upon and evaluate each experience.

Q: In what inward and outward ways are our practices of worship, prayer, and service consistent with St. Paul’s Church Statement of Call?

Q: In our life together in worship, prayer, and mission, do we support each other in seeking and following Jesus Christ? In what ways do we “do justice, and to love kindness, and walk humbly with our God?” (Micah 6:8)

Q: How do we seek to engage each person’s whole heart, soul, mind, and strength in the love of God?

Q: Are we open to being changed, outwardly and inwardly, by the gifts of the Spirit that each person brings to our church community?

Q: Do we openly and consciously celebrate our unity in faith and practice with Christ’s church through the ages and around the world? Do we remember that since the day of Pentecost the followers of the risen Jesus have “devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers?” (Acts 2:42)

These are one person’s idea of helpful open-ended questions to ask ourselves as we work to seek and serve the face of Christ in all people.

Next, I’ll demonstrate how these questions might be applied in a couple of real situation.

Continue reading »

Share